Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I admit I’m not a fan of vampire novels, plain curiosity is the only reason why I decided to read this one. I’ve seen its books in most bookstores, heard so many people liked it, and the mere fact that it is so popular among young adults I thought I’d try it. 

So after reading, I thought it was okay but not quite great to give it five stars. I liked that it obviously steered clear from what I didn’t like to encounter in vampire novels. There’s no sparkly vampires and the awkwardly cheesy love story, but rather it introduces a whole new concept like Morois, Strigois, Dragomirs, Dhampirs, and Guardians. Well, I can’t say anything bad about the story because in all fairness it was good and it ended pretty well. 

The love story was sufficient, and by “sufficient” I mean it didn’t drag on too long and overpower the entire story. However, the whole time I’m reading the Rose-Dimitri moments I was thinking.. “Why does he have to be older than her? Why does he need to be Lissa’s guardian?”…. When Dimitri says the line “If I let myself love you, I won’t throw myself in front of her. I’ll throw myself in front of you,” it got stuck in my mind. That made me pause and wonder if they have a future together. I think they’d be great together. I guess I’ll have to read the sequel to know. 

Leave a Reply

