Beastly by Alex Flinn

I have nothing much to say about the book because it wasn’t bad and it turned out to be what i expected.

Recently, modern versions of tales that we all came to love since our childhood days have magically emerged. But we still read or watch them even though they’ve been adapted so many times. The reason is probably the same as why i decided to read this. Like some readers, I just want to be able to experience again those childhood days when fairy tales are all that really matter, as if the world is full of fairies,princes, princesses and any one who suffers from evil witches, stepmother or stepsisters will be justly rewarded with a handsome prince in the future. Well, I can say that Beastly is one of them, albeit it comes with a modern twist.

The story is nearly the same as The Beauty and the Beast but it is obviously intended for young adult or teen readers. I mean I agree that beauty is nothing if you treat other people as inferiors. The only way you’ll be able to open your heart to others is to put your feet into their shoes. And isn’t it amazing how true love can change a person for the better? I know that this book is not flawless, it didn’t give me the jaw-dropping scenes and revelations, what it gave me was something to ponder about. Because sometimes, the most obvious and easiest lessons in life are the ones we give the least importance to. All we need is a simple reminder just like what it gave me.

I recommend this to those who are not really looking for something new but for something familiar yet beautiful.

I give this book 4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

